Progress

Published July 15, 2015 by Jess Arwen

This is another Camp NaNoWriMo post.

Right now, I’m procrastinating hardcore, when I really should be writing my story. I refuse to change the goal any lower than 50,000 words, which means my story is way behind where it should be. Yet, I don’t hate myself either.

Yes, I slacked off a lot, and continue to do so, like right now, but I already wrote more for one piece than I ever have in my life. The current word count sits at 14,031, when it should be more like 22,000. That’s okay, though. The excitement has not worn out, and I am hoping to sit at least around 17,000 words by the end of the day.

Since this is my first time doing something like this, I must continue to thank the NaNoWriMo community for cheering each other on, and for not judging someone for slacking off. I hope that this novel-length story will be the first of many, but what will I do with them?

Some people go on to publish after participating in this month of frustration, hyper-caffeination, and carpal tunnel syndrome, but we’ll see what happens since this is my first. Each day, I love the story that grows, now of its own volition, so if nothing else, Death’s Song will be a story I treasure for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

