Music Major Problems

Published July 11, 2014 by Jess Arwen

Inspired by The Daily Post’s Can’t Stand Me.

Being a music major means that you’ve inevitably sat through many a theory class in which your professor has asked you to sing something, possibly using solfeggio (Do, Re, Mi, etc.) or maybe even some twelve-tone stuff. Because of the fear of sounding silly, I actually took voice lessons. That wasn’t the only reason, since I love choir and all, but it was a big reason.

Thus, to put it plainly, I am very skeptical of my own voice. I’m not so scared of the way I look….at least after I’ve fully woken. My boyfriend frequently calls me Medusa in the morning for good reason, but I honestly don’t care one way or another what I look like. But I do care about how I sound.

Also being an a cappella director is daunting. I’m not sure I’d actually be in the group if I’d had to audition. The founders asked me one day if I’d just play the parts out on piano for them, and that turned into directing somehow. Honestly, I don’t even like the way I sound live in front of other people, but I’m slowly getting over that. You kind of have to if you’re asking people to make specific sounds come out of their mouths.

Though I do hate listening to myself, I definitely encourage everyone to listen to themselves sing. Not only can you improve so much from doing so; you also learn a bit about yourself.

Leave a Reply

