Just Accept It

Published July 4, 2014 by Jess Arwen

From The Daily Post’s It’s Your Party: Since many are marking their country’s “birthday” in the US today, we wanted to ask: How do you celebrate yours? Are you all for a big bash, or more of a low-key birthday boy/girl?

I’ve always dreaded birthdays. It’s not ’cause I’m getting older either; I actually love that part, but I simply always shied away from celebrating something I had almost nothing to do with. My mom was the one who did all the work the day I was born, so why are we celebrating me?

Last year, we spent my birthday on vacation at my grandparents’ house. They’re determined to keep believing I’m somewhere around the age of seven, so I definitely did not look forward to it. When the day came, I acted like a brat and moped around. Nothing would make me happy.

We went to see a movie. We went to my favourite restaurant. We had my favourite cake. My family even gave me presents I loved, but I was determined to be depressed. I broke my grandparents’ hearts. Since their only grandchildren (including me) live so far away, it’s not often they get to celebrate birthdays with their family, and I ruined this one chance. It ate at me for so long that when my next birthday arrived, I decided not to be a grump about it.

Maybe I got a big ego about it too, but I loved being the center of attention for a day! It’s actually a lot easier to just go with other people’s plans for your birthday than to force your way on others. Luckily, we only celebrated with my immediate family, so most of the pressure was off anyways. It’s a whole lot easier to smile for a day than to frown. Plus, you feel a lot better about it in retrospect. I figure, if we’re all stuck here together, we might as well make each other as happy as possible. Thus, I will just accept it when people say “Happy Birthday” to me!

Leave a Reply

